Sugar cookies…my Granny’s recipe

cookies

 

Every year I make sugar cookies and seem to misplace the recipe. I called my granny and got this recipe. It’s been enjoyed for years in my life. I am so glad that I can pass the cookie tradition down to my son who loves to help me cook and bake. Now if I can get him over that he can’t eat dough or when they come right out the oven we will be great!
3/4 C. shortening or 6 Tbsp. of shortening and 6 Tbsp. butter soft (I do the half & half)
1 C. sugar  
2 eggs 
1 tsp. vanilla
2 1/2 C. all purpose flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp.salt
Combine the first 4 ingredients in a blender until well combined. Pour remaining ingredients into the wet mixture and mix till a ball of dough forms….about 5 mins or so. This is done quicker if you have a stand mixer. Chill the dough for an hour.
Heat the oven to 325 degrees. Roll dough out to desired thickness and cut out shapes. If the cutter seem to stick place in a little flour first then cut. Place on ungreased baking sheet and bake no more than 8 min.
Note: These will look like they are not done but trust me they are. When you bake them this way they are still nice and moist.
Leave a Reply

